Home / Getting started

Home Forums General Getting started

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Anonymous
    Inactive

At first, I would like to say thank you for the great work, which of course also goes out to the Quantlib team. I really appreciate it!
    I have several years of professional experience in capital markets and risk management and in my opinion both tools can easily keep up with many commercial applications and pricing libraries I have encountered in banks so far.
    However, after waiting excitedly for the new release, I am still struggling to get started with Open Source Risk Engine. Even with solid know-how about financial products and pricing/ risk models the sheer number of parameters and config files is overwhelming.
    The provided examples are great to show the extensive power and the possibilities of the software in a complex pricing environment, but it is really challenging to identify the essential building blocks and parameters in the config files to run some simple test calculations.
    The documentation is already pretty good for an open source project, but a small „getting started“ tutorial would be helpful. I have something like this in my mind:
    – Single currency portfolio
    – No multicurve framework
    – No counterparty credit risk, no collateral etc.
    – Only basic set of market parameters: flat vol surface, flat interest rate curves etc.
    Maybe just pricing and sensitivity calculation of a plain vanilla equity option or a plain bond. I think it would be easier to start with a basic configuration and then add more features one after the other.
    I started with the configuration in example 16 and by reducing the input files to a bare minimum I finally succeeded in pricing an plain vanilla option – but so far, I even failed in calculating the respective sensitivities…